Neurology of anxiety and trauma conditioning.

The nervous system is a complex anatomical structure which collects millions of stimuli per second. The encephalon is divided into three parts, depending on their structure and function, a network of nerves and sensors, forming a centralised neuronal system, including the encephalon and within the vertebrae of the spinal Colum.

The peripheral nervous system is the ganglia, which forms the physiological response, free from human will. Also referred to as the autonomous because it induces a behaviour that does not involve conscious effort. It is also called the vegetative system, because it automatically regulates the basic vital functions for the body.

The sympathetic nervous system are two chains of ganglia, symmetrical to the spinal column, organized into plexuses and distributes to organs to enable co-ordination and control.

The parasympathetic nervous system is mainly consisting the Vagus nerve, which not only controls homeostasis, but also all the functions of the internal organs.

  • Afferent nerves or sensory fibres, transfer messages collected from sensory stimulus to CNS.
  • Efferent nerves or motor nerves, transfer nerve impulses from CNS to body organs, muscles or glands.

Memories of traumatic events can be stored to memory via the Vagus nerve. An experience may trigger the efferent nerves to transmit to the pituitary gland.

The central nervous system is a combination of 10 billion nervous cells binded with glia cells. The two nerve stimuli make up the cerebral tissue inside the skullcap. The grey matter, that surrounds the brain and also includes the cerebral spinal fluid, within the sub arachnoid space within the brain, the nerves and sensory senses are maintained through the pituitary gland, and also has its origin in the pineal gland – via the third ventricle.

The two hemispheres of the brain operate on an opposite direction to their location on the body. Thus, the right hemisphere controls the left side of the body and the left hemisphere controls the left side of the body. This is due to the pituitary gland, which is part of the reptilian brain, that houses the 12 cranial nerves. These twelve nerves are connected via the internal surface of the encephalon. The 12 nerves send and transmit sensory stimulus via the Vagus nerve. Often referred to by roman numerals, X or 10, runs directly through the pituitary gland.

Three nerves are exclusively affluent, meaning they carry information from the sensory organs to the encephalon. These nerves are the optical nerve, acoustic nerve and olphactory nerve. Thus, the information that is processed from the environment into the pituitary gland. Two nerves are exclusively motor nerves, the assessor nerve XI (which sends information to neck muscles) and the hypoglossal neve XII (which moves the tongue and other muscles involved in speech. The other seven nerves are both motor and sensory fibres. The Vagus nerve is the only nerve which is attached to the thymus gland and the pancreas. Which affects homeostasis and is connected to most internal organs.

The vagus nerve is the control panel for experiencing traumatic events and is the only nerve that connects to the plexus in the stomach – hence, the heavy feeling that is often felt prior to an anxiety provoking attack. The butterflies felt in the stomach, when seeing the object of desire. The gut instinct known as intuition! These internal feelings are operational through the vagus nerve. X marks the spot for re-traumatisation. Body to brain and brain to body autonomic response.

I Olphactory –
II optical nerve –
III Occular Motor –
IV Trochlear –
V Trigaminal nerve
VI Abducent nerve
VII Facial nerve
VIII Acoustic nerve
IX Glossopharingeal nerve –
X Vagus nerve –
XI Accessory Nerve
XII Hypoglossal nerve –
Nerves I, II & VIII all correspond together in the pituitary gland.

The central nervous system has four primary plexuses that are located along the spine.

  • Cervical plexus
    Brachial plexus
    Lumbar plexus
    Sacral plexus

The choroid plexus is located within the mammalian brain, one in each side, there is a lateral ventricle, which circulates around the limbic system, the third ventricle sits directly over the pineal gland, surrounding the third eye, the fourth ventricle is located lower, in the brain stem, where it travels down the spinal fluid, in the central nervous system and the various plexus sites. The four ventricles communicate with each other.

Studies have found evidence of an enlarged ventricle, indicating a loss in neural tissue, leading to suggestions that, cytokines and related mediators of neurodegeneration, play a role in disease.

The four ventricles produce cells in the nervous system.
The venous plexus is related to the blood, reproduction.
The cardiac plexus is related to the heart.
The celiac plexus is related to the 1st lumber vertebrae, and is often referred to as the solar plexus.

The averbachs plexus is gastrointestinal tract.
The meissners plexus (submucosal) gastrointestinal tract.

The endocrine system is designed to be the chemist within the brain system. This system responds to stimulus, from internal organs, processing them via fear conditioned response, via the vagus nerve. Within the limbic system and the reptilian brain, there is the evidence to substantiate the interconnection between the inner world of conditioning responses to the outer world of physical reality!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s